Kitchen Black & White

Knife Rack
Knife Rack

 

For this set of photographs, I decided to focus on my kitchen, but give it a black-and-white treatment.  I mostly did closeup shots, except in a few cases, to limit the frame to the subject at hand and not clutter things up and cause distractions.

 

Pantry
Pantry

 

I almost got rid of the soup can, on the thinking that this would be interpreted as Warhol-esque.  But it was there, and I figured, might as well be honest that I like the occasional Campbell’s with a peanut butter sandwich.

 

Cutting Boards
Cutting Boards

 

I also used a variety of B&W treatments here, depending on the exact subject.  This one was a red filter, but some others used blue, or just darkened, or otherwise manipulated.  I’m not set on any one style, just what suits the purpose at hand best.

 

Countertop
Countertop

 

Hey, I live near Gilroy, so yeah, there’s a lot of garlic.  That and it makes up for a childhood without it (parental allergy, boo!).

 

Knife Rack, Part II
Knife Rack, Part II

 

And yes, TWO knife racks.  Too many knives … but they all come in handy, or at least that’s what I keep telling myself.

 

Fridge
Fridge

 

This shoot was done right after I cooked lunches for the week, and have ingredients on hand for morning juicing, so this thing is packed.

 

Spice Rack
Spice Rack

 

And did I mention I like to cook?  Sadly, this is not all the spices … they are also in a cupboard and two drawers, and the whole room’s spices are alphabetized clockwise (really).  I’m mental like that.

 

Next time, either patio or bar!

 

Happy shooting!

 

See more of my work at

Website: http://www.patricklcahalan.co.nf

Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/patricklcahalan

Instagram: patrickcahalanphotography

Facebook: Patrick Cahalan

Pinterest: @cahalan007

Leave a Reply

