Keyhole

Keyhole View
Keyhole View

This was a nasty piece to shoot.  It’s called the Keyhole, and is at the Priory of the Knights of Malta on Aventine Hill in Rome.

As the name suggests, it’s shot by looking through an actual keyhole.  As in, bend over and look (or shoot) through it.  Which means it’s a bugger!  And to boot, the foreground in the hedges is far darker than St. Peter’s in the distance.

So I ended up doing multiple exposures – without tripod – between groups of tourists.  I was definitely afraid I would get jack squat, but after using layers in Photoshop with the light and dark, and feathering my selections to blend it better, I got this.  Not great, but without a tripod and HDR work I think it’s the best I can get.

See more of my work at http://www.patricklcahalan.co.nf  and http://www.flickr.com/photos/patricklcahalan

Leave a Reply

