Water Temple

Pulgas Water Temple
Pulgas Water Temple

Looks like ancient Greece, right?

 

This is actually the Pulgas Water Temple, near Crystal Springs reservoir in California.  Built at the final terminus of the Hetch Hetchy aqueduct, it is where the waters of the Tuolumne River finally settle before heading north to their destination in San Francisco.

 

Water Temple, Side IR View
Water Temple, Side IR View

 

I’d only recently heard of it, and it’s a nuisance to get to as it’s only open on weekdays.  But bizarrely enough, that includes Labor Day, so I got lucky on this one.

 

Fortunately for me, it was still and sunny, and not too busy, so it made for great photos that required almost zero post-processing.

 

IR, Center View
IR, Center View

 

It’s one of those old (looking) structures that looks great both in color and infrared.  And if I’m this happy with Pulgas, I’m positively salivating about what I’ll see soon when I’m in Greece.

 

Side View, Color
Side View, Color

 

Happy Shooting!

See more of my work at http://www.patricklcahalan.co.nf  and http://www.flickr.com/photos/patricklcahalan

Leave a Reply

