Fog and White Balance

Santa Cruz, CA
Santa Cruz, CA

Last weekend I was down at the beach, and there was fog in the morning.  It was actually a pretty cool looking scene, but I had a devil of a time getting the exposure to come out exactly how my eye saw it.

It was either too flat, too oversaturated, or I either could see too much through the fog or not enough.  Eventually I semi-gave up, and shot with a bunch of different white balance settings under the theory that I would fiddle in Photoshop later and see which one came out best.

I ended up liking the “cloudy” setting best.  I still had to make a few tweaks to exposure, selective color, and so on (as per usual) but I got the result above that I like a lot.  Note that I was shooting into the sun in this case; if shooting at 90 degrees or opposite the sun, I think maybe the “shady” WB setting might work well … something for me to try in the future.

But this time it worked, and you can bet next time I’m shooting backlit fog I’ll remember it.

Happy shooting!

See more of my work at http://www.patricklcahalan.co.nf  and http://www.flickr.com/photos/patricklcahalan

 

Leave a Reply

