Ambition

Without ambition, it’s tough to accomplish much.  If you’re content to keep doing the same thing, or minor variations, and plod along resting on your laurels, you’re not likely to stumble upon anything innovative.

However, at the same time, ambition should be tempered with careful planning. I seriously doubt that Genghis Khan woke up on a Wednesday morning and said to himself, “Hm, not much going on today, maybe I should go conquer the world.”

All of which is leading me to my current grand ambition, which ought to net me a ton of phorographic material.

Namely, the John Muir Trail.

Muir Trail Map
Muir Trail Map

It starts in Yosemite Valley and traverses over 200 miles through the heights of the Sierra Nevada mountains, often over 10,000 feet in elevation, ending at the top of Mt. Whitney, the tallest point in the lower 48 states.

Vernal Falls
Vernal Falls

This is no mean undertaking.  Nor am I planning to do it next week!  In fact, I have my sights set on late summer of 2019.

Why so long?  Well, I have to

  • Develop my backpacking skills
  • Figure out food, drink, and equipment – and test all of it.
  • Get in WAY better shape
  • Find ways to get great photos without lugging 40+ pounds of gear around
  • Plan, plan, plan and test, test, test in general

That doesn’t happen overnight.  In particular, if you have a regular job, it is not a fast process.

Tuolumne MeadowsTuolumne Meadows
Tuolumne Meadows

But I am absolutely convinced that it will be worth it.  The opportunity to learn about myself and the entire process, the chance for once-in-a-lifetime photos, and the adventure of it all have me convinced.

Now the hard part – making the plan happen, day in and out, for the next 3+ years.  You can expect updates as I progress.

Happy shooting!

See more of my work at http://www.patricklcahalan.co.nf  and http://www.flickr.com/photos/patricklcahalan

 

Leave a Reply

