Flashguns & Flowers

Backlit Orchids
Backlit Orchids

I spent part of last Saturday at the Pacific Orchid expo in San Francisco, and unlike past years, I actually got some good results this time.

It seems the key is, regardless of all the lighting they set up, just a simple flashgun.  The bigger point is that the light is low in the exhibition hall, and the longer range flash allowed me to overcome both the lighting and the occasional distance to the subject.  Point of note, I also used a diffuser on the flash.

Flower Girl
Flower Girl

There was lots of color, and variable lighting, so I mainly shot on auto white balance.  That also freed me up to think less about each shot’s technical aspects, and more about composition.

Dracula Orchid
Dracula Orchid

This, incidentally, got best in show.  I can only imagine how obnoxiously difficult they must be to grow with any measure of success.

Indoor flowers are gorgeous, but I’ve always had a hard time of it in the past.  Going forward, I think I’m going to rely on auto WB and a flash more often, if only because it frees up my mind to think more about the artistic side of what I’m doing.

And here’s one from the sales exhibit that looked good in high contrast:

Terrariums
Terrariums

And last but not least, the quarrelsome fellow by the entrance.

Grumpy Tiki
Grumpy Tiki

Happy shooting!

 

See more of my work at http://www.patricklcahalan.co.nf  and http://www.flickr.com/photos/patricklcahalan

 

 

Leave a Reply

