Different Tools

Reflection
Reflection

I find that when I’m out on a shoot, I get my best results when I turn to my best tool.

And no, I don’t mean my DSLR, or my tripod, or my shutter release, or flashgun/lenses/filters/what have you.

I mean the tool that sits halfway between my ears!  As in, the ‘ol brain.  Because if that’s what I’m using, I can usually overcome any technical obstacle in my path.  And on the other hand, if I’m NOT using my brain, all the fancy gear in my arsenal will be as useful as a screen door on a submarine.

Case in point, the photograph above.  I knew next to jack about serious photography when I took this, but I saw a shot I liked of the reflection.  I actually shot it upside down, no tripod, and not much clue about proper exposure.  I also knew diddly of PhotoShop at the time, and the only thing I did was flip it upside down to get the impression of “rocks in the sky.”

But for an ignorant newbie, the point is: I saw the shot, and finagled until I got it.  And that’s when I’m at my best – not thinking about gear or plans, but first and foremost, seeing what’s in front of me, not just looking at it.

So open your eyes and see first (the “why”), and then worry about getting it accomplished (the “how”); it seems to work pretty good for me.

Happy shooting!

 

See more of my work at http://www.patricklcahalan.co.nf  and http://www.flickr.com/photos/patricklcahalan

 

Leave a Reply

