Food & Drink Part II, or Negroni Time

So here is another stab at food photography.  This is centered around a little “mad scientist” experiment I started a few weeks ago – barreling a batch of cocktails.

A few years back my fiancee picked me up a whiskey aging kit, and after enjoying the results thereof (and believe me: they were VERY enjoyable), I kept the barrel for some future use.

Enter the aged cocktail.  The basic idea is mix up the drink, less the ice, and shove it in the barrel.

Disclaimer: I have nothing to do with the Woodinville Whiskey Co, aside from having enjoyed their product.  Which you should buy, like, yesterday.  And I am not making money off this so kindly do not waste your money on lawyering me.

For this, I set up with a short lens and a flashgun, set to through-the-lens.  I kept the shutter time short (1/200), with a wide open aperture  and ISO of 400 so I could snag fast motion as things poured or stirred.

End of Maturation
End of Maturation

After a few weeks in the barrel – which ages at about a 10x rate compared to a normal-sized whiskey barrel – it was ready to tap and taste today.

Tapping its Potential
Tapping its Potential

After that – time to make a drink.  Since I already had the booze, it became an exercise of adding ice and a garnish.

Ingredients
Ingredients

Then stir!

Making a Cocktail
Making a Cocktail

And finally, the finished product.  Less overtly bitter than normal, it seems that the aging mellowed out the Campari and Vermouth … it became an herbal orchestra, and was utterly delightful.

An Aged Negroni
An Aged Negroni
Leave a Reply

